2020 Louisiana Principal of theYear

P Jennifer Dennis Carey.jpg

Jennifer dennis carey

kipp East Community, orleans parish

(watch this space)

Vivamus pellentesque vitae neque at vestibulum. Donec efficitur mollis dui vel pharetra.
— Jennifer Dennis Carey


  • Brad Soileau, Allen Parish, FINALIST

  • Carli Francois, Ascension Parish, 2020 High School Principal of the Year

  • Nancy Rousseau, Assumption Parish

  • Steven Schulz, Beauregard Parish, FINALIST

  • Lisa Burns, Bossier Parish, 2020 Elementary School Teacher of the Year

  • Michael Ilgenfritz, Caddo Paish

  • Dr. Christella Dawson, City of Monroe School District, FINALIST

  • Catasha Edwards, East Baton Rouge Parish

  • Wilbert Gilbeaux, Jefferson Davis Parish

  • Terrah Everette-Harrison, Jefferson Parish

  • Jeffrey Debetaz, Lafayette Parish

  • Rusty Farrar, Lincoln Parish

  • Greg Hayden, Livingston Parish, FINALIST

  • Charles Wright, Ouachita Parish, FINALIST

  • Becky Pippen, Rapides Parish

  • Jennifer Dennis Carey, KIPP New Orleans, FINALIST

  • Tene’ Leach, Sabine Parish

  • Tamika Green, St. Charles Parish, 2020 Middle School Teacher of the Year

  • Tiffany Francis, St. Martin Parish

  • Christopher Oufnac, St. Tammany Parish

  • Ronald J. Foret, Terrebonne Parish

  • Anthony Cain, Union Parish

  • Jessica Major, West Baton Rouge Parlish

  • Penny Hale, West Carroll Parish

The Principal of the Year Process

The process for selecting a Louisiana Principal of the Year begins at the local level. Each school within every public or public charter school district is eligible to select a Principal of the Year subject to their own selection criteria. Those individual local school nominations are sent to the District level for further review and consideration.

Each District Superintendent or public charter school District may select three outstanding teachers to forward to the State Department of Education for competition at the state level. Of the three District nominations, there will be one elementary, one middle school, and one high school principal selected.

The Louisiana Department of Education continues a review and evaluation of all District candidates submitted. To learn more about the Principal of the Year selection process, contact LDOE at louisianabelieves.com/teaching/award-programs. Questions regarding the selection process or on-line applications should be directed to the department.

The 2020 Louisiana Principal of the Year will be announced at the 2019 Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala to be held on July 19, 2019 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Baton Rouge.  This event is dedicated to recognizing and honoring Louisiana’s outstanding principals, and is jointly sponsored by Dream Teachers, the Louisiana Department of Education, and the Louisiana Association of Principals.