Educators Change the World Banner-2.jpg



Friday, July 19  •  Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge

Dream Teachers, the Louisiana Department of Education, and the Louisiana Association of Principals cordially invite you to attend the 13th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala. The event is Black-Tie optional.

Semifinalists and  finalists for Teacher and Principal of the Year will be recognized and honored with cash prizes and gifts from the business community. The elementary, middle, and high school Teachers and Principals of the Year will be announced. The evening will conclude with the presentations of the coveted Louisiana Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year awards.

Adding more sparkle to the evening, the finalists for the prestigious H. Norman Saurage III Service Award will be presented and the 2019 winner will be named.  The Milken Educator Award winners from Louisiana will be honored.  It's time to celebrate these exemplary educators and the legacies they leave for Louisiana's children!

Please click "Register" below to purchase tickets, BEGINNING MAY 1, 2019. All seats for the Awards Gala are reserved. If you wish to sit with friends and family, please register your entire party as a GROUP. Dream Teachers will do our best to seat your GROUP at the same table or at multiple tables near one another.

School boards and individual schools making bulk purchases of 10 or more tickets can receive a 25% discount through July 1, 2019. Please contact for bulk purchasing information.


**Schedule of Events:

5:00 – 5:30pm Sponsor Reception, Cypress I

5:30 - 6:30pm Registration, Atrium

5:30 - 6:30pm Cocktail Reception, Premier I, II, III

6:30 – 9:30pm Awards Gala Program

Close of Ceremonies Press interviews and photos, Cypress I

*Schedule is subject to change


FROM THE 10TH ANNUAL AWARDS GALA - Joni Reed, 2017 Teacher of the Year