2019 H. Norman Saurage III

Service Award Winner


Kristin A. Robair

Broadmoor High School,

East Baton Rouge Parish Schools

Kristin Robair was named by Dream Teachers as the 2019 H. Norman Saurage III Service Award winner on July 19th at the 13th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards in Baton Rouge. Pictured with Ms. Robair are three finalists; Kelly Paquin, Prairie Primary School, Ascension Parish; Casey McMann, Belle Chasse High School, Plaquemines Parish; and Mark Ebarb, Dutchtown High School, Ascension Parish. Three Saurage family members, Donna Saurage, Matt Saurage, and Hank Saurage presented the award created in honor of the late CEO of Community Coffee Company.

Ms. Robair teaches English, History, and Mass Communications at Broadmoor High School. She is the 2019-2020 East Baton Rouge Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year, and was Broadmoor Middle School’s Teacher of the Year in 2018.

Kristin’s “community” extends into five parishes where she is engaged in projects aligned wth education, nutrition, fitness, and political awareness. She volunteers and/or spearheads projects in East Baton Rouge, Orleans, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington parishes. Her volunteerism is as diverse as it is prolific. To broadly summarize, she is engaged in charitable walks and 5K runs that benefit different causes; she participates in clean-up and beautification projects in all 5 parishes; she is engaged in fund raising for school athletics and feeding the homeless; she assists with the American Heart Association Luncheon; creates awareness of domestic violence through the Purple Box Project; hosts ACT Prep Workshops and mentors students for testing; she is engaged in Read Across America; and she assists with Voter Registration drives in multiple parishes. Ms. Robair selected City Year as her charitable cause.

Dream Teachers Calls for Nominations!

About The award

In honor of the late Norman Saurage, longtime Chairman of the Board for Community Coffee, Dream Teachers will recognize a Louisiana teacher for outstanding service to the community. Both the Saurage family and the Community Coffee Company have been  active advocates for public education in Louisiana for more than 40 years.

The H. Norman Saurage III Service Award will go to a Louisiana public school teacher who has demonstrated not only outstanding instructional skills, but has made an exceptional personal contribution outside of the classroom to student enrichment, professional leadership, or community service.  The award can recognize the achievement of a single outstanding event, or continuous dedicated service over a period of time.


Louisiana public school teachers with a minimum one-year of service may be nominated. Teachers previously nominated may be re-nominated for subsequent years.


Please click the NOMINATE button above to access the nomination form. Peers, parents, principals, superintendents, organizations or anyone who has knowledge of a teacher who has made significant community service contributions may nominate a teacher. Thoughtfully describe the activities and reasons your nominee should be selected. Your nominee will be asked to complete a formal application.

Nominations for 2020 are OPEN until June 1.

Activities may include:

  • After-school tutoring

  • Coordinating charity events or fundraising events

  • Represents the school at community events

  • Organizes and or leads school clubs

  • Performs professional development programs

  • Demonstrates leadership in professional organizations

  • Serves on non-profit board

  • Volunteers with charitable or non-profit organization

  • Volunteers during the summer

  • Does home visits or other out of school initiatives

  • Initiated new program or special event

  • Serving as an inspiration to others

The Award

The award recipient will be recognized at the 14th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards in July, 2020.  The recipient will receive a cash award, and a portion of the cash prize will be dedicated to help support their continued extracurricular activity.

Note to 2020 Finalists

Finalists for 2020 will be selected by a Dream Teachers evaluation committee and are invited to participate in the annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards to be held in July, 2020 in Baton Rouge. The 2020 winner will be announced at the Awards and will receive a personal cash award, plus a cash award that will be donated to his/her selected nonprofit cause.