2019 Louisiana Teacher of the Year


Spencer Kiper, M.Ed

Elm Grove Middle School, Bossier Parish

Spencer Kiper is a regional and global STEM education advocate who believes in empowering students through culturally-enriched and industry-based connections. His investment in the Whole Child Approach is bolstered by his background rooted in liberal arts, technology, and science education. As a STEM enrichment educator, Spencer’s efforts to build a pipeline for STEM and Career/Technical Education have resulted in a STEM laboratory that enriches the lives of over 100 students each year. Spencer’s reach resonates deeply within his community in Northwest Louisiana and extends far outside of his classroom—impacting education on a global scale. His work as a Professional Development Specialist for the U.S. Space & Rocket Center and STEM Revolution has impacted the practice of educators from over 30 countries.

Spencer is passionate about sharing innovative practices. He has presented topics at the regional and national levels that build innovative educational technology and STEM education capacities in other educators. With advanced degrees in educational technology, cyber education, and educational leadership, Spencer works to impact the teacher pipeline in his region by serving as an adjunct professor and school partner to the teacher preparation and alternative certification programs at Louisiana State University/Shreveport.

As the 2019 Louisiana Teacher of the Year, Mr. Kiper serves on the Educator Effectiveness Committee on Louisiana’s Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. He is leading a statewide initiative to elevate the work of outstanding Louisiana teachers through the #FindYourDoSomething campaign.

Follow Spencer at www.spencerkiper.com and read his blog: https://spencerkiper.com/blog

Education is the promise we make to our youth for a future that is rich with opportunity. Educators and community members are responsible for this promise. Let’s work together to ensure that our children have the knowledge, support, and attitude needed to make the most out of the future we pass to them.
— Spencer Kiper, M.Ed


  • Dan Osgood, Belle Chasse Academy, Inc.

  • Lacey Blocker, Calcasieu Parish, FINALIST

  • Justin Overacker, City of Monroe School District

  • Amanda Crane, Claiborne Parish, FINALIST

  • Loretta Wooters, Community School For

    Apprenticeship Learning

  • Scarlett Walker, DeSoto Parish

  • Rajasekhar Yarraguntia, East Carroll Parish

  • Lisa Celestine Jack, Evangeline Parish, FINALIST

  • Alejandra Wiggers, Franklin Parish

  • Jessica Borland, Grant Parish, FINALIST

  • Jamie Staes, Jefferson Parish

  • Brittany Legendre, Lafourche Parish, FINALIST

  • Annie Smith, Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation, FINALIST

  • Jessica Breaux, Orleans Parish, FINALIST

  • Emily Ogden, Richland Parish, FINALIST

  • Christopher Dier, St. Bernard Parish, FINALIST

  • Lauren Schoeffler, St. Landry Parish

  • Hunter Landry, St. Martin Parish

  • Kathleen Cranford, Tangipahoa Parish

  • Kristal Eimer, Terrebonne Parish

  • Shane Theall, Vermilion Parish

  • Danelle Nash, Vernon Parish

  • Eunice Dieguez, West Feliciana Parish

  • Nathan Munsell, Zachary Community School District

The Teacher of the Year Process

The process for selecting a Louisiana Teachers of the Year begins at the local level. Each school within every public or public charter school district is eligible to select a Teacher of the Year subject to their own selection criteria. Those individual local school nominations are sent to the District level for further review and consideration.

Each District Superintendent or public charter school District may select three outstanding teachers to forward to the State Department of Education for competition at the state level. Of the three District nominations, there will be one elementary, one middle school, and one high school teacher selected.

The Louisiana Department of Education continues a review and evaluation of all District candidates submitted. To learn more about the Teacher of the Year selection process, contact LDOE at louisianabelieves.com/teaching/award-programs. Questions regarding the selection process or on-line applications should be directed to the department.

The 2020 Louisiana Teacher of the Year will be announced at the 2019 Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala to be held on July 19, 2019 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Baton Rouge. This event is dedicated to recognizing and honoring Louisiana’s outstanding educators, and is jointly sponsored by Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Department of Education in cooperation with the Louisiana Association of Principals.